news-room market-place products data-bank forum e-mail
magnesium. com
forum

General Forum »
 Author   Thread   NEW THREAD | POST REPLY 
V Laxmanan

Subject: Fuel Economy and Vehicle Weight Reduction 

I recently tried to arrive at an estimate of the potential improvement in fuel economy produced by reducing the weight of a vehicle. Consumer Reports 2005 provides the Curb weight (in pounds) and fuel economy values (EPA Ratings, in mpg, as well as actual test data) for 226 new cars and trucks. I studied this data to arrive at the estimate.

Fuel economy is, of course, affected by many design factors besides curb weight. Some factors that can be examined are engine HP, transmission characteristics and aerodynamic design. Not all of these can be evaluated quantitatively. However, my study shows that:

1. As curb weight increases, engine HP increases.
The graph of weight versus engine HP shows a nice upward trend but also reveals a lot of scatter, which only means that factors other than engine HP must be considered.

2. As curb weight increases, mpg (I used the EPA, HWY rated value) decreases.
The graph of weight versus mpg HP shows a nice downward trend. There is much less scatter and I can develop a simple linear regression equation (using classical least squares fitting) relating curb weight to mpg.

However, considering the difficulties in testing and the large variations in engine, transmission and aerodynamic characteristics between vehicles, I decided to use a simpler method, and simply connected the extreme points by a straight line. The data point can then be shown to fall between the parallels with the equation y = hx + c where the constants h = -0.0064 and c has the values given below.

y = -0.0064x + 54.76
y = -0.0064 + 45.06

Her x is curb weight in pounds and y is the mpg. The slope is negative which means fuel economy decreases as curb weight increases.